Week 5 – Stayin’ Alive.. Well, just barely.

Close up of some discolored/chipped plates from this week

So this week I brought my lovely and amazing boyfriend along for the ride.  Before we got to work, I stopped at the hardware store to pick up goggles and a respiratory mask.  I’m surprised that he didn’t run away at this point!  We got to my parents house (which he wouldn’t be allowed to enter) and I snuck him across the street to my grandmother’s old house.  I gave him a quick tour (it’s a very small house) and sent him up the creaky steps to the attic to move boxes.  The goggles and mask were because the insulation is falling everywhere and it can’t be healthy to breathe in.  He is such a good sport, he really didn’t know what he was getting into.

Meanwhile, I hesitantly ventured back to my parents house.  I happy to say that I’ve found a tactic that works with my mom!  I walked in and asked for potting materials to use for growing seeds.  She was so excited to show me all of the pots that she cleaned and organized.  My favorite quote from her was “You wouldn’t believe what a disorganized mess this all was.”  NO WAY!!  Like the rest of this house??  In the end she was actually excited to give me the potting supplies.  Score!

We then headed back upstairs.  As I walked towards the front door I noticed phone books.  Lots of them.  It doesn’t help that we have two houses that get about 5 phone books EACH every year.  I start throwing older editions into a box as she hesitantly thumbs through one while eying me at the same time.  I leave the 2011 to 2012 editions and mention something about a 2010 to 2011 copy.  My mother shrieks “WHAT!  That one is 2011?”  I reply “yes mom, 2011, as in last year” as I immediately bury it under an old phone book in the bag.  In the end, I pack up 4 bags of phone books.  I grab a few boxes I had put together last week along with two bags of newspapers my mother has left and go  to check on the boy.

Lots of Phone Books!!

Phone Books – 32 to be exact..

My wonderful, amazing boyfriend is NOT happy.  I tell him he did a great job and get him out of the house immediately so he can get home and wash up.  He states that the next time he goes over there he wants garbage bags and people to help move things.  I’m happy I’m not the only one who sees this stuff and wants to do something about it!  We get home and unload everything.  I am disappointed as it seems like there are mostly cracked and/or stained dishes.  There is a set of corelle dishes in good condition that can be sold and a set of 3 elephant statues that look like they may be ivory.  Everything else seems to be garbage.  Surprisingly, my mother gave me the go-ahead to get rid of the worn plates.  She then stated that we could keep the corelle dishes for my 6 year old niece.  Sure, let’s just pack them away for 20 years.  Ugh!!  I immediately take the worn items to Goodwill before she changes her mind!

An underwhelming turnout

This week – 2 Bags of newspapers

32 Phone Books

Corelle dishes, random plates, glasses, tea cups, ivory statues

2 plant-starting trays

Total – 8 Bags of Newspapers

4 thoughts on “Week 5 – Stayin’ Alive.. Well, just barely.

    • Thanks! Yes, he has been as helpful as he can be without actually being able to go in the house. It’s nice to have someone to gripe to (even though you guys are really good “listeners”) 🙂

  1. You are a wonderful daughter. Many of the items you’re photographing are beautiful, and I understand why your mom wanted to treasure them. Thanks for helping her with her priorities, so she can learn to distinguish the wheat from the chaff.

    • Thanks! Yes, some of the items are very nice and I wish I could keep them. In the end I have to be realistic about what fits into my life. I was excited that the punch bowl was sold to a loving home. I have found spots in my house for a few items so far and they look really cool (pics will come soon!)

Leave a Reply

