Week 8 – Still Going..

These are some blue glasses/bowls that my mother put aside for me. I absolutely love them and I’m really glad I found them again!!

Sorry for the delay in posting this week!  I was about to post this up yesterday and realized that I wanted to include a few extra pictures.  I was super exhausted last night and didn’t have the energy to take the pictures and put them in the post!  Not like I have any more energy right now (I literally went to post this and the stupid system reverted to my old draft.  I might cry)..

Anyways, I’m feeling WAY under the weather this week, but hoarding never stops, so I dragged myself to my parents house.  Upon walking in, I saw my mom and began to express how awful I was feeling.  She cheerily replied, “you can take the two bags of newspapers and go home then”!  NOT SO FAST, I told her I would still grab some other stuff while I was there.  She then went off to watch dancing with the stars (yes I am a bit behind since I started a journal a few weeks ahead of my blog and I’m referring off that).  This was good to note for the future since she was COMPLETELY distracted.  I proceeded to go upstairs to my brother’s room and found there wasn’t much to take aside from a large box of blue dishes and a box or two of tea cups.  My house is filled with boxes of plates, glasses, and other items waiting to find their ultimate destination, so I decided to leave them behind for now.

I grabbed a box of my old stuff, two boxes that had been sitting at the top of the stairs, and a bag of old clothes.  This didn’t take very much time so I decided to go back to the garage.  Upon entering, I am stopped by the fact that there are a bunch of bags and boxes on the ground that are ultimately preventing me from going any further.  I look in the bags and find old food which I’m guessing is from my grandma’s house.  Then I come across a few bags of old garbage that I threw away years ago while I was still living with my parents.  I am surprised at the amount of anger that arises when I see my old garbage still sitting in the house.  When I was younger, my brother and I used to get into huge arguments about the fact that my mother would go through our trash.  Coming across these bags, It still feels like she is invading my privacy years later.  I decide to let the anger go and move on.

I finally dig my way to a pile of previously packed newspapers and one falls from the bag.  I look at the year and it says 1992!!  Ugh, really??  I grab a few bags of newspapers and then decide to clean the hallway since there are a mountain of things blocking the garage door.  I literally feel like I am going to fall over them every time I try to walk through.  My mother finally breaks herself from the TV and helps me sort through items for recycling.

This is the British Float. I had to do a bit of research to figure out what it was. Normally it has rope around it, but it was in bad condition so I took it off. Miles decided he had to be in the picture.

I get home and look to see what was in the boxes at the top of the stairs.  There are a few blue glass bowls that my mother had put aside for me years ago, but I wasn’t sure where the box had disappeared to.  I’m quite excited to find these items again!  The bag of clothes ended up having a lot of yarn and fabric in it.  It smells awful and there doesn’t seem to be any easy ways to recycle fabric, so this stuff is out (I have since found a few clothing/cloth recycling programs in the area).  I put together another box of items and find a British float.  I had no idea what that was, but I am excited about it.  Not too bad.

In the morning I get a call from my mother.  She angrily asks “WHERE IS THE WEED KILLER THAT WAS BY THE DOOR!?!?  WHY DID YOU THROW IT AWAY???”  I tell her that I didn’t actually throw it away, I just moved the box to the garage.  My mother wearily replied okay.  Then she was upset because I threw away a bunch of used paper coffee cups that my father normally takes to appointments with them.  My mother comments that he used one on the way to the doctor just the other day.  I told my mother I would buy him a travel coffee mug even though I swear they have a bunch in the house already.  In addition, I decided to buy my mother a compost bucket to replace the six milk containers she won’t part with.  She won’t get rid of the milk cartons in case she needs to use one as a new compost bin.  Of course her excuse for not using the new compost bin that I bought her is that “it’s too big.”  I get it.  I will never win.

There really wasn’t anything interesting this week. Except the animal scarf in the middle. I will include that on a later post when I’m having an un-eventful week. It’s quite the fashion accessory!!

I figure I am done at this point, but I get another call a few hours later.  My mother immediately states “you took the tea cups!”  Mind you they were teetering on top of some other boxes of junk in the middle of the floor.  I replied that I just moved them to the corner with the rest of the tea cups.  My mother replies “oh. And the bows, did you take the bows?”  This was in reference to a few packages of decorative bows that were laying on the floor.  I reply that I placed the bows in a box with the rest of the bows.  Again, my mother replies “oh.”  I’m obviously doing a good job so far if I can prove her wrong at every accusation!

I must also mention that my father freaked out because he thought I was taking his empty boxes out of the garage.  Mind you they are in a damp garage and covered by dryer dust, so I doubt they are useable.  I told him not to start with me as well and he left me alone after that.  I definitely don’t need two people on me!

This week –

5 Bags of Newspapers

1 trunk full of random garbage (cardboard, old plastic, lotion bottles, shaving cream cans, actual food, and a kid’s ride on toy

Fabric

Misc dishes and trinkets

Leave a Reply

